Eking tiny khakis out of scraps — and rejiggering a pattern to make them fit

pants O khaki s2907 size 1/2 18 mos

This pattern is a hit. And I’ve been pulling all kinds of fabric from the stash for Mr. Baby.

This khaki twill came from a thrift store and made me a skirt muslin years ago.

It’s such nice stuff I had no business making a muslin from it. But I don’t wear khaki so I chopped it up. At any rate, there was not enough left to cut pants straight from the envelope.

With some finagling, though, I turned the scraps into baby pants. Simplicity 2907.

The backs from went from four pieces to two. I lengthened the bottoms of the upper back pieces by about six inches, essentially making shorts into long pants.

pants O khaki s2907 size 1/2 18 mos

The front uppers got cut out according to the directions. I eked out a two-inch piece on the bias for the knees, and then four-inch bottom fronts on grain. The bias cut wasn’t so much for design as just how the pieces fit.

pants O khaki s2907 size 1/2 18 mos

Stitched the legs together and carefully topstitched them as directed.

Zigzagged the seams inside. And added a red tag in the back of the waistband.

pants O khaki s2907 size 1/2 18 mos

No pockets this time. I just couldn’t make the pockets work, and didn’t want to mess around with any contrasting fabrics this time. Too classic.

pants O khaki s2907 size 1/2 18 mos

(The orange markings came right out in the wash.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment