Wardrobe: Keep it or pitch it?

In culling my closet, I’m trying to be honest and stick to the rules. That’s harder than it seemed.

Take this guy. Fantastic magenta blouse.

blouse-magenta

I put it on. I applied the rules, ignoring the brand name (“Shapely”).

  • Solid magenta color (#6): Keep it.
  • Doesn’t need ironing (#10): Keep it.
  • Simple design, kicky cuffs, fabric has great sheen (#11): Keep it.
  • Woven, not knit (#1): Pitch it.
  • Neck kinda high if I button it decently (#2): Pitch it.
  • Little bit blousy. Not great fit as it is (#5): Pitch it.

See? That’s indecisive. So I’m going to try wearing it to work with a very fitted long pencil skirt in textured black twill. If I love it then, I’ll keep it. If I don’t love it then, this little guy gots to go.

Here’s another one. This I made, one of the first things I tried in knit fabric. It’s Simplicity 3790 with stuff from an amazing Hobby Lobby clearance sale. Like 60″ @ $2/yard. Made an exact copy in the same stuff, only cream where this guy’s black.

top-black lace

This keep’s much clearer:

  • Simple design, interesting fabric (#11): Keep it.
  • Knit, not woven (#1): Keep it.
  • Neck nice and deep (#2) Keep it.
  • Not a true wrap top, but the band at the bottom cinches me in nicely (#4): Keep it.

I can’t say anything mean about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

