Manifesto: Dress from dress

I’m trying this little dress refashion for fall, using the copious amounts of easy knit fabric from a giant honking shirtdress to cut out a simple four-piece dress from pattern Simplicity 3506. The original was cut from a border print, using the fabric’s variations to make different pieces of the dress. The belt’s all cut from stripes.

dress-simplicity-opened
(There’s the original dress, opened up at the sides.)

Been staring at the dress a minute, deciding whether to take it in or just start over. And used the MANIFESTO to determine it’s worth cutting into a new dress:

This dress has lots of darts:
#5. I have a curvy body that needs a little harnessing. When the fits is right, wow. When it’s not, I want to tear up the photographic evidence.

And a good V-neck: #2 I wear open necks, not high ones. When my bosom gets buried under a lot of fabric, I feel giant. And I like necklaces more than other jewelry.

It’s easy knit:
#10 I hate ironing and don’t do it.

And it’s a pretty basic dark print, dark enough, I think to be un-regretted:
#9 I like easy dresses, too. I end up regretting most prints (save leopard). I’d rather let my jewelry do the talking. I love prints as sneaky inside peeks: pockets, trims, linings.

So it seems like a worthwhile project. I’ve jumped in, traced the main pieces and cut.
dress-simplicity-layout

Figures I didn’t photograph its “before” status. Someday.

  1. September 21st, 2010
  2. September 22nd, 2010

Leave a Reply

