Silk and hilarity

Husband’s best man in his friend’s wedding.

And I happened upon a stunning eggplant silk at an absolute steal.

silk for purple dress

I’m deadly serious. $6 a yard at the Vogue in Chicago. Spotted it over Christmas, ended up going back for three yards. I let it sit, waiting for a dress shape to come to me.

Then I remembered this Very Easy Vogue pattern I had bought as a wedding dress possibility.

V8416-closeup

Loved the mermaid shape, the low square neck, the wide set straps. Hated the puffy or frilly sleeves, but those seemed an easy fix. Did * not * love the high back and couldn’t confidently figure out what to do about it.

V8416-drawing

I’m now going with the short one, since Mister asked me kindly not to show up the bride. Really, though, a long skirt won’t show my shoes. Really, really, I only have three yards of the stuff.

So last weekend I cut out a muslin from fabric (printed especially for JoAnn) so ugly I might like it now.

V8416-muslin fabric

V8416-muslin layout

Lengthened the sleeves a teeny touch. And I’m moving the slit to one side instead of the center back. Will deepen it a bit to vamp it up. Since the muslin needs no more alterations, I might try using it as the lining for a version in medium gray.

My curvy self has been waiting by the phone a long time for a dress this shape.

  1. March 21st, 2010
  2. March 21st, 2010

Leave a Reply

