T is for teeny and for tough

My teeniest friend, whose birth I got to witness last year, is a year old now and on the move.

He lives here in Chicago not far from me with his parents, but the rest of his family is spread out all over the place. And he gets to go see them pretty often.

So I thought he (and they) might like a present that lets him represent his hometown and his tough attitude.

jacket-flag-stars

Enter the denim jacket, which is super fun to make for teeny people. And I don’t mean I made the actual jacket. More like the patch I sewed onto the back of one I found in excellent condition in one of my better second-hand sources.

jacket-flag-front

Used a piece of white cotton I interfaced and then folded in half. Cut out the six-pointed stars from interfaced scraps of polka-dotted red quilting cotton.

jacket-stars ready

Stripes from long rectangles of blue and white cloud printed fabric I folded into thirds so the edges would be clean folds. No interfacing needed there since they won’t fray.

jacket-stripes cut

Laid it all out!

jacket-applique laid out

Stars got sewn onto the background in red thread with a teeny zigzag stitch across from point to point, then all the way around.

jacket-stars stitched back

Stripes were pinned down then secured with white thread in a wider zig-zag.

jacket-stripes stitched

I basted the patch edges together really close to the edge, basted it to the jacket with a similar giant stitch, then sewed around the whole thing twice with a really big satin stitch.

jacket-patch pinned

jacket-patch satin stitch

When little mister tried it on last night, his mom had to roll up the sleeves. He has some room to grow into his new jacket.
jacket-flag-back

Happy Birthday, teeny friend!

Sweet! We have another friend here whose baby boy is just about ready for a jacket, too.

Time for a reprise?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

