What to do with Dolly?!

My Mister gave me this t-shirt after a Dolly Parton show last year in Chicago hours before he gave me an engagement ring. Holy gee, does it get any better?

t-shirt-dolly concert

He even knew to buy me the biggest size so I could make it cute.

t-shirt-dolly concert back

And since May 8, 2008, it’s been hiding in my closet, waiting for inspiration to strike. I thought I figured it out, with a pattern from a trusted south suburban thrift store, for “Gorgeous tops” as the previous owner wrote.

Pattern-McCall's 3994

Her patterns were individually wrapped in plastic bags, as if she had been marketing them for sale? Her notes are all over this one.

pattern-McCall's 3994 notes

Pattern-McCall's 3994 back

I tried one in red knit I thrifted. Pulled it way in since the original pattern was too big. And shortened the sleeves, too, so they were… cappier. 

It was just waiting for a bottom hem. Only now I can’t find the darn thing. Or any pictures I may have taken. 

I remember, though, it wasn’t the one. The search continues for the Dolly top.  

  1. February 13th, 2010
  2. February 14th, 2010
  3. September 16th, 2010

Leave a Reply

