Jazzing up another little dress

Leggy little goddaughter told me she wanted a drop waisted dress for Christmas after she found out I was making one for her cousin. Problem is, the kid’s ahead of the pattern trends. So the 9-year-old wants a cocktail dress. I’m just the girl to give her one.

This Butterick pattern was the closest I could find, and despite its name (Flirt Girl) it still isn’t exactly right.

I used some purple panne velvet from the stash to make the C – with the round collar and plain skirt, above in lime green.

Ruffle - finished top

I ended up adding some elastic where the waist should drop. Sewed the sash into the side seam so there’s a knot on the other side. But then the plain hem felt… flat.

The answer, once again: A ruffle.

Panne tends to curl, so it’s a pain to measure, press and hem. So instead, I doubled a width of the 60″ fabric and basted it, using a mark on my machine to sew it even.

Ruffle - let machine basting measure the depth

Ended up with a uniform tube. 

Ruffle - join ends, baste raw edges

Trimmed the edges and pinned it all in place, starting at a half.

Ruffle - fold, baste and trim

Then halved the half, pinning, until it was all pinned in place, a step I’d never skip again.  

Ruffle - pin in place

And sewed it on with a narrow, long zig-zag stitch, pulling a little on the skirt fabric to keep the ruffle really gathered.  

Ruffle - finished skirt

There’s the finished number, pinned to the back of my ladyform. If I can find a long string of costume pearls in my travels, I’ll add them to the package, too. 

Ruffle - finished dress

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

