Ladies in the arts

My Mister and I scored a membership to the Art Institute of Chicago, many thanks to my sister.

We finally took a stroll through the new section, The Modern Wing, which opened in May while we were off getting hitched. It connects with a magical bridge to Millennium Park.

fitz on bridge to modern wing

Inside, I recognized this young lady right away, from a childhood subscription to Highlights magazine, where I think I first saw anything about modern art.

"dancing girl"

Then I started noticing other ladies I liked the look of, doing my favorite things. If Klee’s girl is dancing, Leger’s is reclining with a book.

"reclining woman" 1922

And Brancusi’s is snoozing.

"sleeping muse"

Look at her beautiful face—
"sleeping muse"

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

