It’s going to be a pink Christmas.

Sigh. The reason I started selling clothes online at all was precisely to sell off all the pink vintage clothing I found. Stuff that was so beautiful, but pink. No sir, I don’t like it. 

So of course, my niece, whose Christmas dress I make every year, chose p-i-n-k this time. In my favorite fabric store ever, during our special trip, just girls, she swept past teal velour, purple velvet, silvery knit and plunked her finger squarely on a hot pink baby corduroy.

 fabric-gaffneys-ruby-pink

With glitter, see?.

Efforts to push the dusty rose (and gray) taffeta were promptly denied.  

So this dress will be hot pink. And super twirly.

Since Gaffney’s is amazing, I grabbed up out of the quarter bin (not the yardage, the price) a chunk of this cotton that might make the bindings.

fabric-gaffneys-quarter-pink

Close enough? I know it hardly screams “holiday”. But neither does pink.

fabric-ruby-pinks

  1. October 31st, 2009
    Trackback from : TV to sew by « fitzfabulous
  2. January 24th, 2015

Leave a Reply

