Dresses make good gifts.

The same little girl who got these dresses for her and her mom gets a custom Christmas dress every year made by her faraway aunt. I figure if I can’t spend time with her, I’ll spend time on her. And twirly dresses are super fun. Best part of all: We’ll get to take a trip to Gaffney’s together next weekend where she’ll get to pick whatever fabric she wants.  

Kiddo wants something like this, the Love To Twirl. In green. I haven’t yet seen an exact pattern, with tiers starting right under your shoulders, but I found these two Simplicity patterns on sale at the JoJo that I think could work. How don’t I already have anything close?

So 2711 is for wovens and 2943 (Project Runway for kids now?!) for knits.

Simplicity 2711
Simplicity 2943

I think the trick’s going to be getting the upper body to fit her, then to chop the bodice high and start adding tiers. This tutorial should come in handy.

  1. October 23rd, 2009
  2. November 1st, 2009
  3. November 15th, 2009
  4. November 15th, 2009

Leave a Reply

