Help me…turn this skirt into a top

This skirt is fun, thank you, Markham half-price thrift.

Metallic brocade skirt before

It’s a metallic multicolored brocade knit with a gold embroidered band at the bottom. There’s no slit, there’s just elastic at the waist and the whole thing is just too big for me.

I don’t want to wear it as a skirt. I want to transform this little guy into a top, keeping the bottom band intact and wearing it around my hips. Thought about pulling out the elastic and sewing/cutting appropriately to end up with cap sleeves. Tube top isn’t an option. I don’t like to be naked. And if I have sleeves on, I’ll happily don the over-the-top fabric.

Any suggestions? Any pattern in mind?

    • Cris Wright
    • March 23rd, 2009

    It looks it could be a cute vest to me!

    • Ace
    • March 21st, 2012

    I hope you did not make a vest… If it is too big for you then as a top it could be an awesome loose slightly open back. Simply pull out the elastic (which you should keep for later) and then measure on one side of your chest at your ideal neckline around your neck and back down to the opposite side and add about 7 inches. Pick out a ribbon that goes with the shirt, I suggest a brown satin ribbon, cut it the length from above and then in half. Remember the points where you ended the measuring tape before you added the 7 inches? Well, sew one end of each ribbon to a point and you can tie them around your neck as a halter-like top. If you are worried about your boobs flying out or something then you can take the elastic and sew each of its ends to the inside of the shirt just below where the back ends and it will hold back the shirt but not too tightly when you where the band around your back. I did this with my skirt and it works so great!!

  1. March 25th, 2009
    Trackback from : Lousy March « fitzfabulous
  2. June 27th, 2009

Leave a Reply

