How to.. recycle coupons

I love coupons. I love playing the coupon game, shuffling around the little buggers around until the toothpaste we need at home ends up costing pennies. Really I love the idea that I’ve somehow outsmarted The Man, because I beelined past all the impulse items to buy just those two boxes of tampons that will be free after rebate, and yes, the coupon I hold, will pay for the rebate stamp. Score!

So when I read a blurb about old ladies cutting coupons for military families overseas, I read more. And I learned from the peeps at the Overseas Coupon Project that stores on military bases accept coupons up to 6 months past their printed expiration date. And since I spend a chunk of Sunday morning in front of the talk shows cutting out coupons anyway, I might as well sit until the credits cutting out the rest of them instead of giving them the toss.

I’ll try not to think about promoting consumerism and absurd household products (will continue to throw out anything with Glade) and instead will remember what it was like living overseas to find a taste of home, even if that taste was something disgusting called Kraft Macaroni and Cheese or Tang.

Will find a widget to track my progress. First mailing = $200.36 in printed savings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

