pink @ fitzfab @ ebay

I don’t do pink. Period. Don’t like it. Don’t like what it means. Yet I find the most fabulous dresses that happen to be pink. Here’s the latest casualty, now featured on fitzfab on ebay:

hot pink jackie-o dress

Look at that Jackie-O collar! And the charming diamond shape sewn into the simple front! You can almost feel the wool boucle fabric. And here’s the heartbreaker, a sassy side pleat fastened with covered buttons. I love it:

hot pink jackie-o dress - detail

And I hate the pink. I think, “Dye that sucker. Dye it darker and enjoy it. Dye it anything darker.”

One time in high school I bought an amazing orange dress. Bias-cut long a-line skirt. The top had frog closurs and a keyhole over the bosom. H-O-T, except for the orange which in HS I also wasn’t into. Tried to dip it red. Failed miserably. Ruined the poor little dress. Guess it’d dye black now if I tried harder and with the patience and budget of an older woman. But that stunner of a dress left me scarred and scared to dye again. Asked the refashioning ladies what to do in terms of dye. Whatever they decide I will respect.

Meanwhile, I wave good-bye to Jackie-O in hot pink. Maybe she’ll finance something in a darker shade of purple.

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Susan Kishner

  2. didn’t know before about technorati. thanks for the tip.

    • Ang.
    • February 19th, 2008

    Love the dress – but what does pink “mean”? To me it’s just a color – it looks good on some people, not on others – I don’t think about it too much.

  3. I couldn’t stand the thought that this dress might wind up in a dyepot – I bought it and it’s at the cleaners now. It fits very nicely and I can’t wait to wear it! I just don’t understand why pink generates such strong emotions. But I don’t care, it looks good on me, so I wear it happily.

  1. February 29th, 2008
    Trackback from : FOIAstorm « fitzfabulous
  2. March 1st, 2008
  3. April 8th, 2008
    Trackback from : etsy luck « fitzfabulous

Leave a Reply

